First CCGs authorised

11th December 2012

From Pulse 11 Dec 2012

The NHS Commissioning Board has today announced the first wave of 34 CCGs authorised to control health budgets in their local areas.

Just eight of the 34 CCGs have been authorised with no conditions, meaning they fully met all 119 authorisation criteria.  The NHS Commissioning Board said the remaining 26 authorised CCGs need to ‘continue developing’ so they too meet the criteria in all areas.

The NHS Commissioning Board will complete the authorisation process for the remaining 177 CCGs in a further three waves, publishing the results in January, February and March 2013.

Dr Charles Alessi, NHS Clinical Commissioners (NHSCC) interim chair said: ‘It is to be welcomed that several CCGs have been authorised with no or minimal conditions. Where the NHS Commissioning Board has decided that decisions need to be signed off or approved by the board we would expect this to work in a supportive and facilitative manner so as to ensure that conditions are lifted as soon as is practicable. As we move towards 1 April 2013 we trust that the NHSCB will be working with CCGs to ensure that the maximum number of conditions is met and CCGs are fully authorised.

‘We understand that the authorisation process is an important one to verify CCGs are ready to take on their significant responsibilities. However the role of the NHS Commissioning Board is to ensure that CCGs are fit to deliver on their responsibilities it is not to second guess or micro-manage how they deliver positive outcomes for their populations. We look to the board to get the balance right and ensure they are empowering and supporting clinical leadership to develop and flourish.’

Dr Michael Dixon, interim NHSCC president said: ‘Locally led clinical commissioning has today taken a major stride forward. ‘Clinical commissioners are already beginning to tackle issues head on working with their local communities to develop their own solutions that respond to local needs and patients’ concerns.

‘We know that the NHS has to confront significant financial challenges in the years ahead. CCGs have the opportunity to do things differently, build links across health and social care and deliver innovative solutions to help secure the long-term future of the NHS.’

The 34 authorised CCGs are:

  • North of England - NHS Blackpool CCG; NHS Calderdale CCG;  NHS Cumbria CCG; NHS East Riding; NHS North East Lincolnshire CCG; NHS Oldham CCG; NHS Rotherham CCG; NHS Wakefield CCG; NHS Warrington CCG; NHS West Cheshire CCG.
  • Midlands and East - NHS Bassetlaw CCG; NHS Dudley CCG; NHS East and North Herts CCG; NHS East Leicestershire & Rutland CCG; NHS Great Yarmouth and Waveney CCG; NHS Leicester City CCG; NHS North Staffordshire CCG; NHS Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG; NHS Shropshire CCG; NHS Stoke on Trent CCG; NHS West Leicestershire CCG.
  • South of England - NHS Bedfordshire CCG; NHS Gloucestershire CCG; NHS Kernow CCG; NHS Newbury and District CCG; NHS North and West Reading; NHS Oxfordshire CCG; NHS Portsmouth CCG; NHS Somerset CCG; NHS South Reading CCG; NHS Wokingham CCG.
  • London - NHS Islington CCG: NHS Kingston CCG; NHS Wandsworth CCG.

<< Back to General News